Go to ...
RSS Feed

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

TV: Dindi Daily. Sun. Jan. 27, 2019

Noel McIlwraith and Maurie Pawsey at the Alexandra celebrations

Welcome to Dindi Daily – with our local review of Australia Day.
Australia Day celebrations were held by community volunteers across the region at locations including Yea, Alexandra, Eildon, Marysville, Kinglake, Flowerdale, Strath Creek and Flowerdale.

Matthew Noonan was named as Murrindindi Shire’s Citizen of the Year at Yea.

Norma Hodson of Kanumbra was named as Senior Citizen of the Year, at the Alexandra Ceremony.

Australia Day breakfasts were served by community volunteers across the region.

At Yea and Marysville, Australia Day Ambassadior Debra Bateman had an inspiring message

At the Yea celebrations, there was entertainment by Julian Laucius.

The Shire was represented by Cr Bec Bowles, Cr Eric Lording and CEO Craig Lloyd.

Rotary members, led by President Ken Maxfield and David Anderson, were in charge of catering.

At Alexandra, Mayor Cr Sandice McAulay, flanked by Community Engagement Director Shivaun Brown and Cr Margaret Rae, conducted a citizenship ceremony …
for Diana Thomas, pictured with Pat Jane at left.

Amongst the local identities present were:

Sharon Fox with Deputy Leader of the Opposition, Cindy McLeish

Noel McIlwraith and Maurie Pawsey

with catering handled by the members of the Lions Club of Alexandra.

At Marysville, there were good crowds for the Australia Day parade where Tamara Wilson was named as Junior Citzien of the Year.

Local identities at Marysville included:

Naomi McNamara and Cr Sandice McAulay

Dr Debra Bateman with Marysville Lions member Glenn McFadzean

Anne Jessop and Bev Fraser

Norman Fisk and Brian Sillott

At Flowerdale, there was great community spirit

(Insert of Flowerdale singer: Sally Colaiacovo)

Sandie Dodd entertained the gathering

As did John Lee and Terry Redding

Flowerdale CFA volunteers Gabby Denke, Rhonda Makin and Debbie Makin

and the Flowerdale Men’s Shed group enjoyed the fun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *